Newest members of National Transportation Safety Board sworn in

On Monday in Washington D.C., the National Transportation Safety Board’s (NTSB) newest members were sworn in.

“Over 41,000 people lose their lives on highway accidents every year. We need to learn from every one of those tragedies. And we will,” said Todd Inman.

Inman gave the oath of office which was administrated by former U.S. Secretary of Transportation and former U.S. Secretary of Labor Elaine Chao.

“What I always appreciate about Todd is he is always a person who will always answer the call and you can depend on him, always, regardless of the crisis, said Chao.

Inman previously served as Chao’s Director of Operations and Chief of Staff at the U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT).

NTSB Chair Jennifer Homendy welcomed Inman, who is joining the transportation safety watchdog agency as the board is investigating the Francis Scott Key Bridge collapse in Baltimore and other major transportation incidents.

Alvin Brown was also sworn in as a member of the NTSB.

Receive Our Newsletter

Get the latest Safety21 news sent to your inbox.